Forever Young

If there were a real Fountain of Youth, would you drink the water?

via Daily Prompt: Forever Young.

Though I am quite familiar with the legend of the Fountain of Youth, I decided to Google it because I thought the search results would be interesting.  I was not disappointed.  Here are the top five.

From the Nat Geo Website - The Fountain of Youth by Edward Veith

Here’s where it gets interesting:

  • The Fountain of Youth Institute – A plastic surgeon’s website.  Anyone surprised?
  • The Progress Report: Florida’s Fountain of Youth – This is a little strangely presented to me.  In the Google Search result, some text appears under the label:  “Florida’s Fountain of Youth CORPORATE WELFARE”.  Intrigued, I click over to find an article describing the Ponce de Leon / Florida legend, but no mention of “Corporate Welfare”.  Anyone know why this would be?  Is there something hidden in the HTML that makes that wording come up in the Google results even though it does not appear on the page?

Anyway, back to the topic.

Remembering the movie The Highlander, I think it would suck to live on and on and on while my loved ones and friends die around me.  If all my friends and family got to drink from the Fountain of Youth, it would suck less.  But then… where would we put all those people?

If the Fountain of Youth would allow me to live to the age of 100 (and look 29, with perfect health and a great body), then die peacefully in my sleep, that would be a lot of fun.  Living a long, healthy, fun life, and passing to the next life, is always the option I will choose.

2 thoughts on “Forever Young

Leave a Reply

